Jean-Marie Appriou

Noses

Maagplatz
8005 Zürich
Originally from Brest, Jean-Marie Appriou (*1986) has developed an individual, mystically and surreally charged visual language as a sculptor. Appriou believes in the inherent dynamics of his materials, among which, despite his archaic tendencies in terms of content, he finds modern aluminium … More

Baltensperger + Siepert

Die Glocke

Hunziker-Areal
Hagenholzstrasse 104b
8050 Zürich
This June, the barbecue area on the Hunziker site in Leutschenbach, Zurich, serves as a temporary aluminium collection point. At first glance, this installation looks more like an educational project about sustainable handling of raw materials and seems to have little in common with an artwork. … More

Miquel Barceló

Gran Elefandret

Paradeplatz
8001 Zürich
Artist Miquel Barceló (b. 1957 in Felanitx, ESP) already began addressing issues involving ecology and sustainability in the early 1980s. In 1977, when conservationists occupied the island Dragonera to protest against touristic development and to save this unique habitat off Mallorca’s west … More

Benedikte Bjerre

A Camel in Schwamendingen

Unterhalb Aubrücke
Verzweigung Herzogenmühlestrasse / Überlandstrasse
8051 Zürich
Anyone who comes across Benedikte Bjerre’s artwork in Schwamendingen, Zurich, is tempted to rub their eyes: a life-sized camel stands on a patch of grass beneath the bridge Aubrücke. A Camel in Schwamendingen makes reference to the fact that pack animals (although admittedly no camels) were … More

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Tramhäuschen bei der Emil-Oberhänsli-Anlage
8052 Zürich Seebach
Occupying corners, penetrating walls, bracing passageways, hanging from ceilings… With her artistic interventions, Katinka Bock (b. 1976 in Germany) masterfully utilises the so-called non-places in North Zurich, where this artist has used steel bands as a means of connecting several sculptures … More

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Pavillon Haltestelle Frohburg
8051 Zürich
Occupying corners, penetrating walls, bracing passageways, hanging from ceilings… With her artistic interventions, Katinka Bock (b. 1976 in Germany) masterfully utilises the so-called non-places in North Zurich, where this artist has used steel bands as a means of connecting several sculptures … More

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Autobahn-Lärmschutzwand
bei Herbstweg 96 – 102
8050 Zürich
Occupying corners, penetrating walls, bracing passageways, hanging from ceilings… With her artistic interventions, Katinka Bock (b. 1976 in Germany) masterfully utilises the so-called non-places in North Zurich, where this artist has used steel bands as a means of connecting several sculptures … More

Tina Braegger

The Other Dream Team

Saatlenstrasse 100
8050 Zürich
Tina Braegger’s contribution to the exhibition New North Zurich places five larger-than-life cartoon teddy bears high up on the side of a building. Each of the smiling, striding bears is a different colour and each looks out from a light box marking the outline of the bear’s furry body. In … More

Stefan Burger

Ausbau Life (Expansion Life)

Artist Stefan Burger (b. 1977 in Germany) studied photography at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). In his work, he decisively engages with all conceivable facets of this multifaceted and socially relevant medium. These explorations of the medium of photography usually present themselves … More

Isabelle Cornaro

God Box No. 2

Luegislandstrasse 105
8051 Zürich
The opportunity to propose an immersive installation in the basement of a North Zurich neighbourhood’s industrial building suits Isabelle Cornaro (b. 1974 in France) perfectly. This is because what this French artist is precisely interested in, is addressing notions of uses, values, and … More

Paul Czerlitzki

ANNA

Kirche Saatlen
Saatlenstrasse 240
8050 Zürich
The roofed entrance area at Saatlen Church in Schwamendingen, Zurich, accommodates three large-format paintings by Polish artist Paul Czerlitzki (b. 1986). The almost square paintings are leant against the walls and possess a simplicity (the red colouring is the only accentuating feature) that … More

Olafur Eliasson

Untitled (Farbspiegellichtfeld)

Werkhof Zürich Nord
Neunbrunnenstrasse 60
8050 Zürich
Light and space: two fundamental aspects of nature are central to Olafur Eliasson’s work as an artist. In 2003, he made it possible to experience them in his large-format Weather Project, a comprehensive installation for the Turbine Hall at the Tate Modern in London. Over two million visitors … More

Ruth Erdt

Schwamendingen 2011 – 2017

Leutschenpark
Leutschenbachstrasse 71
8050 Zürich
For years, Zurich artist Ruth Erdt (b. 1965 in Switzerland) has been photographing the immediate surroundings of her place of residence in Schwamendingen, Zurich. Her wanderings gave rise to the long-term project Lokaltermin Schwamendingen (Schwamendingen Site Visit) – an artistic survey of an … More

Fischli / Weiss

How to Work Better

Allmannstrasse 5
8050 Zürich
“How-tos”, short sets of instructions on how to solve a narrowly defined problem, are immensely popular. Affectionate and equally ironic exploration of the popular, in this case the generally understandable common sense conveyed by the ten rules in How to Work Better, is among the most … More

Fischli / Weiss

Haus

Offene Rennbahn
Thurgauerstrasse 2
8050 Zürich
The idea behind Haus was first implemented by Peter Fischli (b. 1952) and David Weiss (1946-2012) as part of Sculpture Projects Münster in 1987. Haus was intended as a 1:5 scale representation of a four-storey commercial building in the modern international style, which was to atmospherically … More

Annemie Fontana

Sirius

Tramwendeschlaufe Messe / Hallenstadion
Wallisellenstrasse 45
8050 Zürich
In the 1960s, the use of innovative materials revolutionised art. Annemie Fontana (1925-2002, Switzerland) originally trained as a couture tailor and ceramicist. She went on to work as a self-taught freelance artist and her polyester sculptures made her a trend-setter within a movement in which … More

HR Giger

Garden in Seebach

The aliens produced by Swiss artist HR Giger (1940-2014) are biomechanoid monsters in erotic battle formations with metallically gleaming and grotesquely extended vertebrae. Giger, who studied interior and industrial design at the Zurich School of Applied Arts until the mid-1960s, faced his … More

John Giorno

LET IT COME, LET IT GO

Eisfeldstrasse/Grubenackerstrasse
8052 Zürich
Since the late 1950s, it has been impossible to imagine New York’s bohemian culture without poet, artist and activist John Giorno (b. 1936 in the USA). Within the milieu of Andy Warhol’s Factory and the beatnik writers’ scene surrounding Allen Ginsberg, Giorno developed an oeuvre of his own, … More

John Giorno

Let it Come, let it go

Probsteistrase 10
8051 Zürich
Since the late 1950s, it has been impossible to imagine New York’s bohemian culture without poet, artist and activist John Giorno (b. 1936 in the USA). Within the milieu of Andy Warhol’s Factory and the beatnik writers’ scene surrounding Allen Ginsberg, Giorno developed an oeuvre of his own, … More

Manaf Halbouni

UPROOTED

COFFEE & DEEDS
Altwiesenstrasse 181
8051 Zürich
Where do people find accommodation when they have lost their homes? All around the globe, people are on the move. The reasons are manifold: civil wars, natural disasters, as well as the lack of economic means of existence drive migration worldwide and call notions of sedentariness into … More

Stella Hamberg

A travers la tête / Robinie

Hirzenbachstrasse 13
8051 Zürich
Stella Hamberg’s (*1975) works are characterised by simultaneities: exterior view and interior view, motion and stillness, moment and permanence, physicality and abstraction, solidity and diffluence. She meets different concepts and materials with the same attentiveness, thus combining various … More

Raphael Hefti

We Are Not One Way To Mars People – Curve Remix

Parklplatz Theater 11
Dörfli-/Thurgauerstrasse
8050 Zürich
If we were to have a bird’s-eye view of Northern Zurich, we would be able to make out a complex structure of lines and stripes. These are carriageway edges, centre lines, car park markings and zebra crossings. They regulate car and bicycle traffic, organise pedestrian flows and arrange parking … More

Nic Hess

Ladenschluss

Wiesenstück
zwischen Bahnhof Stettbach und Sagenbachtobel
8051 Zürich
Artist Nic Hess (b. 1968 in Switzerland) grew up in Schwamendingen, Zurich. After leading a nomadic existence for many years, stopping off in Holland, the USA, Latin America and Asia, he now lives in his parents’ house again, with his family. His work, which he has spent the last 30 years … More

Gregor Hildebrandt

Pawn Shop

Luegislandstrasse 105
8051 Zürich
Berlin-based artist Gregor Hildebrandt (b. 1974 in Germany) addresses systems of culture production and culture mediation. In particular, materials from the culture industry, such as records, audio tape, video cassettes or celluloid, are combined in minimalist installations that open up new … More

Christine & Irene Hohenbüchler

… unterwegs … zuhause …

Schule Buhnrain
Buhnrain 40
8052 Zürich
Since their participation documenta X (1997) at the very latest, Christine and Irene Hohenbüchler have been internationally famous for their often temporary art projects, which are mostly conceived in collaboration with selected social groups. Here, what the pair themselves call “multiple … More

Alfredo Jaar

KULTUR = KAPITAL

Marktplatz Oerlikon
Nansenstrasse 21
8050 Oerlikon
Alfredo Jaar (b. 1956 in Chile), is an artist, architect and filmmaker. Challenging commonly held preconceptions of the relationship between art and politics. He frequently works with quasi-documentary images, which he presents in light boxes, addressing the discrepancy between the First and … More

Daniel Knorr

Instant Community

Ladenlokal Miami
Opfikonstrasse 69
8050 Zürich
In the Auzelg neighbourhood, which is located in Zurich’s outskirts and has been shaped by the activities of “Stiftung Wohnungen für kinderreiche Familien”, a foundation that provides accommodation for families with many children, Daniel Knorr (*1968, DE) presents a performance-based … More

Peter Kogler

SILENT GARDEN

Neunbrunnenstrasse 50
8047 Zürich
Austrian multimedia artist Peter Kogler (*1959, AT) specialises in art in the public space and art-in-architecture projects, Kogler is seen as a pioneer of artistic engagement with the aesthetics of the digital. With the aid of repetitively deployed forms, he develops (sometimes geometric, … More

Renée Levi

Regina, die liegende Beth

Regina-Kägi-Hof 13
8050 Zürich
As a qualified architect and painter, Renée Levi (*1960 in Turkey, CH) is a commuter between these disciplines. She often works in a site-specific or space-specific manner and uses the means of painting to intervene in existing architectural ensembles. Also against this backdrop, a project that … More

Los Carpinteros

Torre Acostada

Quadroplatz
8050 Zürich
Founded in 1992 in Havana, Cuba, the artists’ collective Los Carpinteros (English: the carpenters) produce installations in a hybrid mixture of architecture and sculpture. Their archisculpture Torre Acostada (Reclining Tower) conjures up the notion that the tower is now resting horizontally, … More

Rémy Markowitsch

Josef Ganz im Silberfisch

In der Hub 16
8057 Zürich
Processes of defoliation and illumination (i.e. the visualisation of hidden narratives, states and interwoven relationships) are defining characteristics of Rémy Markowitsch’s way of working. Based in Berlin and Lucerne, this artist (b. 1957 in Switzerland) is driven by the content of certain … More

Achim Mohné

Aletsch_Drag&Drop

Google Earth: Dach Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen, SRF
Fernsehstrasse 1-4
8052 Zürich
The artworks of Achim Mohné (*1964 in Germany) are not usually encountered front-on, but via a medial interposition. Achim Mohné needs the World Wide Web, in order to allow his works to exist at all and to make it possible to experience them in a “real” way. Although he paints or plots images … More

Olivier Mosset

Ohne Titel (Toblerones)

Schulhaus Leutschenbach
Saatlenfussweg 3
8050 Zürich
Anyone who has hiked, taken a train ride or driven through the Swiss landscape with open eyes will have seen striking concrete structures: antitank obstacles from the 1940s to the 1990s, positioned in groups in the open countryside, often in large numbers, to keep the enemy at bay. They are … More

Matt Mullican

4 BENCHES

Neuenbrunnenstrasse 50
8050 Zürich
 Matt Mullican (b. 1951 in the USA) is an artist who already developed a personal interpretive system in the 1980s. His works contain symbols that stand for thinking, being, matter, art etc. In Zurich, four benches can be seen, with grids, into which this visual vocabulary has been incorporated … More

Yves Netzhammer

Der gefangene Floh (The Captured Flea)

EWZ-Unterwerk Zürich-Oerlikon
 Eduard-Imhof-Strasse 3-5
8050 Zürich
In the industrial neighbourhood of Oerlikon, in a substation belonging to ewz, Zurich’s electric utility company, Yves Netzhammer (b. 1970 in Switzerland) has installed an enormous labyrinth of perceptions. His installation of mirrors, drawings, light and speech enhances the architecture and … More

Empire Peles

FOSSILE FEELINGS

Ecke Kur-Früh-Weg / Riedgrabenweg
8050 ZÜRICH
The artist duo Peles Empire formed in 2005 in Frankfurt. The name is borrowed from Romania’s Royal Peleş Castle in the Carpathian Mountains, the eclectic interior design of which combines various architectural epochs in a convoluted arrangement. From gothic to rococo, through to art deco, the … More

Annaïk Lou Pitteloud

NEO-LOGOS

Schaufenster Credit Suisse
Ohmstrasse 2/4
8050 Zürich
Annaïk Lou Pitteloud’s work makes use of different media to direct the viewer’s attention to the invisible components of image construction. ELITOPIA, GLAMOGLOBALITY, NARCYNICISM and INTROSPECULATION: each neon text forms a neologism. These new terms invented by the artist should be in the … More

Frank & Patrik Riklin (Atelier für Sonderaufgaben)

TRINKBRUNNEN

Baugenossenschaft mehr als wohnen
Hagenholzstrasse 104
8050 Zürich
Since 1999, twin brothers Frank and Patrik Riklin (b. 1973 in Switzerland) from St. Gallen have been operating under the name of “Atelier für Sonderaufgaben” (Studio for Special Works) and causing a sensation with their unusual activities at the border between art, society and the economy. With … More

Alex Sadkowsky

EISLÄUFERPAAR (Ice-Skating Pair)

KUNSTEISBAHN OERLIKON
SIEWERDTSTRASSE 80
8050 zürich
Apart from when they are winning home matches surrounded by jubilant fans in the stadium Hallenstadion Zurich, the ZSC Lions are to be found gliding across the ice rink Kunsteisbahn Oerlikon for their training. In the immediate vicinity of a cycle-racing track, stadium and indoor swimming pool, … More

Veronika Spierenburg

Der Loop

Wiese gegenüber Herzogenmühlestrasse 20
8051 Zürich
Music pavilions and bandshells were popular meeting places for the bourgeois public in the late 19th century. At the same time, these structures were associated with a utopian egalitarian aspiration: everyone was to be able to access and experience music in the public space. This notion is also … More

Jules Spinatsch

Schwamendingen 1992, Langzeit Reportage über ein Aussenquartier der Stadt Zürich, Oktober 1991—Dezember 1992 (Schwamendingen 1992, Long-Term Reportage on an Outlying Neighbourhood in the City of Zurich, October 1991 – December 1992)

Wirtschaft Ziegelhütte
Hüttenkopfstrasse 70
8051 Zürich
The Jules Spinatsch work exhibited at Ziegelhütte in Schwamendingen dates back to the early 1990s, when Spinatsch was studying sociology in Zurich while also working as an assistant to various photographers. In parallel, he began to publish photographs of his own in newspapers like the … More

Bernhard Vogelsanger

Schwamendinger Oper

Galerie Tenne
Probsteistrasse 10
8051 Zürich
Bernhard Vogelsanger (1920-1995, Switzerland) was a trained decorator and installed in a three-room flat, which he shared with his mother, his Schwamendinger Oper. He was probably 25 or 30 years old when he began making opera stages out of shoeboxes, for musical works that he would doubtlessly … More

Jean-Marie Appriou

NOSES

Maagplatz
8005 Zürich
Der junge französische Künstler Jean-Marie Appriou (*1986) vertraut auf die Eigendynamik seiner Materialien, von denen es ihm das moderne Aluminium besonders angetan hat. Dieses unter grossem Energieaufwand gewonnene Metall bringt man üblicherweise mit glatten Oberflächen in Verbindung – … Mehr

Baltensperger + Siepert

Die Glocke

Hunziker-Areal
Hagenholzstrasse 104b
8050 Zürich
Der Grillplatz des Hunziker-Areals in Zürich-Leutschenbach dient diesen Juni als temporäre Alu-Sammelstelle. Auf den ersten Blick hat die Installation, die eher einem Vermittlungsprojekt für den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Rohstoffen gleicht, wenig mit einem Kunstwerk gemein. Erst im Laufe der … Mehr

Miquel Barceló

Gran Elefandret

Paradeplatz
8001 Zürich
Miquel Barceló (*1957, Felanitx, ESP) setzt sich bereits seit den frühen 1980er-Jahren mit Fragestellungen der Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit auseinander. 1977 beteiligte sich der junge Barceló an der Besetzung der Insel Dragonera durch Naturschützer, um gegen die touristische Erschliessung zu … Mehr

Benedikte Bjerre

A Camel in Schwamendingen

Unterhalb Aubrücke
Verzweigung Herzogenmühlestrasse / Überlandstrasse
8051 Zürich
Man ist dazu verleitet, sich die Augen zu reiben, wenn man auf die Arbeit von Benedikte Bjerre in Zürich-Schwamendinge trifft: Ein lebensgrosses Kamel steht unterhalb der Aubrücke auf einem Stück Wiese – dort, wo sich der Zürcher Warenverkehr mit Lärm- und Abgassemissionen und einer bekannten … Mehr

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Autobahn-Lärmschutzwand
bei Herbstweg 96 – 102
8050 Zürich
Die Ecke besetzend, die Wände durchstossend, Durchgänge verspannend, von der Decke hängend … Souverän bespielt Katinka Bock (*1976, DE) mit ihren künstlerischen Eingriffen sogenannte Nicht-Orte im Aussenraum von Zürichs Norden, wo die Künstlerin mehrere Bronzearbeiten mittels Stahlbändern mit … Mehr

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Pavillon Haltestelle Frohburg
8051 Zürich
Die Ecke besetzend, die Wände durchstossend, Durchgänge verspannend, von der Decke hängend … Souverän bespielt Katinka Bock (*1976, DE) mit ihren künstlerischen Eingriffen sogenannte Nicht-Orte im Aussenraum von Zürichs Norden, wo die Künstlerin mehrere Bronzearbeiten mittels Stahlbändern mit … Mehr

Katinka Bock

Frida und Friedrich I-V

Tramhäuschen bei der Emil-Oberhänsli-Anlage
8052 Zürich Seebach
Die Ecke besetzend, die Wände durchstossend, Durchgänge verspannend, von der Decke hängend … Souverän bespielt Katinka Bock (*1976, DE) mit ihren künstlerischen Eingriffen sogenannte Nicht-Orte im Aussenraum von Zürichs Norden, wo die Künstlerin mehrere Bronzearbeiten mittels Stahlbändern mit … Mehr

Tina Braegger

The Other Dream Team

Saatlenstrasse 100
8050 Zürich
Tina Braeggers Beitrag zur Ausstellung Neuer Norden Zürich sind fünf überlebensgrosse Cartoon-Teddybären, welche die Künstlerin (*1985, CH) hoch oben an der Fassade eines Gebäudes an der Saatlenstrasse platziert. Jeder der lächelnden, schreitenden Bären hat eine andere Farbe, und jeder schaut … Mehr

Stefan Burger

Ausbau Life

Der Künstler Stefan Burger (*1977, DE), als Fotograf an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) ausgebildet, befasst sich in seiner Arbeit mit allen denkbaren Facetten der Fotografie. Diese Untersuchungen am Medium Fotografie präsentieren sich meist auf den ersten Blick verführerisch. Sie sind … Mehr

Isabelle Cornaro

God Box No. 2

Luegislandstrasse 105
8051 Zürich
Die Gelegenheit, im Kontext eines öffentlichen Kunstereignisses eine Installation im Untergeschoss eines Industriebaus in Zürich-Nord zu realisieren, ist wie gemacht für Isabelle Cornaro (*1974, FR). Denn genau dafür interessiert sich die Künstlerin: für eine Auseinandersetzung mit Nutzungen, … Mehr

Paul Czerlitzki

ANNA

Kirche Saatlen
Saatlenstrasse 240
8050 Zürich
Der überdachte Eingangsbereich der Kirche Saatlen in Zürich-Schwamendingen beherbergt drei grossformatige Malereien des polnischen Künstlers Paul Czerlitzki (*1986). Die beinahe quadratischen Gemälde sind an die Wände gelehnt und entsprechen in ihrer Schlichtheit – einzig die rote Farbe setzt … Mehr

Olafur Eliasson

Ohne Titel (Farbspiegellichtfeld)

Werkhof Zürich Nord
Neunbrunnenstrasse 60
8050 Zürich
Licht und Raum: Zwei grundlegende Aspekte der Natur stehen im Zentrum des künstlerischen Werks von Olafur Eliasson. Im grossen Format hat er sie 2003 in seinem Weather Project erfahrbar gemacht, einer umfassenden Installation für die Turbinenhalle der Tate Modern in London. Über zwei Millionen … Mehr

Ruth Erdt

Schwamendingen 2011 – 2017

Leutschenpark
Leutschenbachstrasse 71
8050 Zürich
Die Zürcher Künstlerin Ruth Erdt (*1965, CH) lichtet seit Jahren die unmittelbare Umgebung ihres Wohnortes Zürich-Schwamendingen ab. Aus ihren Streifzügen hat sich das Langzeitprojekt Lokaltermin Schwamendingen entwickelt, die künstlerische Bestandsaufnahme eines sich zunehmend verändernden … Mehr

Fischli / Weiss

How To Work Better

Allmannstrasse 5
8050 Zürich
«Howtos», also Kurzanleitungen, die sich auf das Lösen eines eng begrenzten Problems beschränken, sind äusserst populär. Die ebenso liebevolle wie ironische Auslotung des Populären, die aus den zehn Regeln von How to Work Better spricht, gehört zu den wichtigsten künstlerischen Methoden von … Mehr

Fischli / Weiss

Haus

Offene Rennbahn
Thurgauerstrasse 2
8050 Zürich
Die Idee zu Haus wurde erstmals von Peter Fischli (*1952) und David Weiss (1946 – 2012) anlässlich der Skulptur Projekte Münster im Jahr 1987 umgesetzt. Dort sollte das vierstöckige Geschäftsgebäude sich im Massstab 1:5 atmosphärisch «in Bahnhofsnähe zwischen dem Kino und der Würstchenbude» in … Mehr

Annemie Fontana

Sirius

Tramwendeschlaufe Messe / Hallenstadion
Wallisellenstrasse 45
8050 Zürich
In den 1960er-Jahren wurde die Kunst mit dem Gebrauch von innovativen Materialien revolutioniert. Annemie Fontana (1925–2002, CH), ursprünglich als Couture-Schneiderin und Keramikerin ausgebildet und als freischaffende Künstlerin eine Autodidaktin, gehörte mit ihren Polyesterskulpturen zu den … Mehr

HR Giger

Garten in Seebach

Die Aliens des Schweizer Künstlers HR Giger (1940–2014) sind biomechanoide Monster in erotischen Kampfformationen mit metallisch glänzenden und ins Groteske verlängerten Rückenwirbeln. Giger studierte bis in die Mitte der 1960er-Jahre an der Zürcher Kunstgewerbeschule Innenarchitektur und … Mehr

John Giorno

We Gave a Party for the Gods

Eisfeldstrasse/Grubenackerstrasse
8052 Zürich
Seit den späten 1950er-Jahren ist der Dichter, Künstler und Aktivist John Giorno (*1936, USA) aus der kulturellen Bohème von New York nicht wegzudenken. Im Umfeld von Andy Warhols Factory und der Beatnik-Literatenszene um Allen Ginsberg hat er ein eigenständiges Œuvre entwickelt, das sich als … Mehr

John Giorno

Let it Come, let it go

Probsteistrase 10
8051 Zürich
Seit den späten 1950er-Jahren ist der Dichter, Künstler und Aktivist John Giorno (*1936, USA) aus der kulturellen Bohème von New York nicht wegzudenken. Im Umfeld von Andy Warhols Factory und der Beatnik-Literatenszene um Allen Ginsberg hat er ein eigenständiges Œuvre entwickelt, das sich als … Mehr

Manaf Halbouni

UPROOTED

COFFEE & DEEDS
Altwiesenstrasse 181
8051 Zürich
Wo finden Menschen eine Unterkunft, wenn sie ihr Zuhause verloren haben? Überall auf dem Globus sind Menschen in Bewegung, die Gründe sind vielfältig, es sind Bürgerkriege, Naturkatastrophen oder aber auch fehlende ökonomische Existenzgrundlagen, die weltweit die Migration vorantreiben und … Mehr

Stella Hamberg

A travers la tête / Robinie

Hirzenbachstrasse 13
8051 Zürich
Die Werke von Stella Hamberg (*1975, DE) zeichnen sich aus durch Gleichzeitigkeiten: Aussensicht und Innensicht, Bewegung und Ruhe, Moment und Dauer, Körperlichkeit und Abstraktion, Festigkeit und Zerfliessen. A travers la tête, die aufwendig gefertigte Bronzeskulptur trifft auf die rohe, … Mehr

Raphael Hefti

We Are Not One Way to Mars People – Curve Remix

Parklplatz Theater 11
Dörfli-/Thurgauerstrasse
8050 Zürich
Würden wir auf Zürich-Nord aus der Vogelperspektive schauen, könnten wir eine komplexe Struktur aus Linien und Streifen erkennen. Es sind Fahrbahnkanten und Mittellinien, Parkplatzmarkierungen oder auch Fussgängerstreifen. Sie regeln den Verkehr, ordnen Fussgängerströme und arrangieren parkende … Mehr

Nic Hess

LADENSCHLUSS

Wiesenstück
zwischen Bahnhof Stettbach und Sagenbachtobel
8051 Zürich
Der Künstler Nic Hess (*1968, CH) ist in Zürich-Schwamendingen aufgewachsen. Nach vielen Jahren einer nomadischen Existenz mit Aufenthalten in Holland, in den USA, in Latein-amerika und in Asien lebt er mit der Familie wieder in seinem Elternhaus. Sein Werk, das er  in den letzten 30 Jahren … Mehr

Gregor Hildebrandt

Pawn Shop

Luegislandstrasse 105
8051 Zürich
Der in Berlin lebende Künstler Gregor Hildebrandt (*1974, DE) befasst sich mit den Systemen von Kulturproduktion und Kulturvermittlung. Vor allem Materialien aus der Kulturindustrie – etwa Schallplatten, Tonbänder, Videocasetten oder Zelluloid – werden zu minimalistischen Installationen gefügt, … Mehr

Christine & Irene Hohenbüchler

… unterwegs … zuhause …

Schule Buhnrain
Buhnrain 40
8052 Zürich
Christine und Irene Hohenbüchler sind spätestens seit ihrer Teilnahme an der documenta 10 (1997) international bekannt für ihre meist in Kooperation mit ausgewählten gesellschaftlichen Gruppen (z. B. Strafgefangenen oder psychisch Kranken) konzipierten und oftmals temporär angelegten … Mehr

Alfredo Jaar

KULTUR = KAPITAL

Marktplatz Oerlikon
Nansenstrasse 21
8050 Oerlikon
Alfredo Jaar (*1956, CL) ist Künstler, Architekt und Filmemacher. In seinem Schaffen stellt er weitreichende Zusammenhänge zwischen Ethik und Ästhetik her. Er arbeitet oft mit quasi-dokumentarischen, in Leuchtkästen präsentierten Bildern, die sich mit der Diskrepanz zwischen der Ersten und der … Mehr

Daniel Knorr

INSTANT COMMUNITY

Ladenlokal Miami
Opfikonstrasse 69
8050 Zürich
Im Quartier Auzelg, an der äussersten Peripherie von Zürich gelegen und von der «Stiftung Wohnungen für kinderreiche Familien» geprägt, zeigt Daniel Knorr (*1968, DE) eine performative Installation: Bereits der Titel Instant Community deutet an, dass es sich um ein Werk handelt, das in der Lage … Mehr

Peter Kogler

SILENT GARDEN

Neunbrunnenstrasse 50
8047 Zürich
Der österreichische Multimediakünstler Peter Kogler (*1959) ist ein Spezialist für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und für Kunst-und-Bau-Projekte. Kogler gilt als Pionier der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Ästhetik des Digitalen. Mithilfe repetitiv eingesetzter Formen entwickelt er mal … Mehr

Renée Levi

Regina, die liegende Beth

Regina-Kägi-Hof 13
8050 Zürich
Als ausgebildete Architektin und Malerin ist Renée Levi (*1960, CH) eine Pendlerin zwischen den Disziplinen. Sie arbeitet häufig orts- bzw. raumbezogen und greift mit malerischen Mitteln in bestehende architektonische Ensembles ein. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist auch ein weithin sichtbares Projekt … Mehr

Los Carpinteros

Torre Acostada

Quadroplatz
8050 Zürich
Das 1992 in Havanna auf Kuba gegründete Künstlerkollektiv Los Carpinteros (deutsch: die Zimmermannsleute) produziert Installationen in einer Mischung aus Architektur und Skulptur. Ihre Archiskulptur Torre Acostada [Liegender Turm] lässt einen auf die Idee kommen, der Turm würde nun in der … Mehr

Rémy Markowitsch

Josef Ganz im Silberfisch

In der Hub 16
8057 Zürich
Die Prozesse des Entblätterns und Durchleuchtens – also die Sichtbarmachung von verborgenen Erzählungen, Zuständen und Beziehungsgeflechten – sind bestimmende Merkmale von Rémy Markowitsch’ Arbeitsweise. Der in Berlin und Luzern lebende Künstler (*1957, CH), von besonderen Biografien und … Mehr

Achim Mohné

ALETSCH_DRAG&DROP

Google Earth: Dach Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen, SRF
Fernsehstrasse 1-4
8052 Zürich
Den Kunstwerken von Achim Mohné (*1964, DE) begegnet man gewöhnlich nicht frontal, sondern über eine mediale Zwischenschaltung. Mohné benutzt das World Wide Web, um seine Werke «real» erfahrbar zu machen. Zwar malt oder plottet er Bilder, die dann auch tatsächlich als Bilder existieren, nur … Mehr

Olivier Mosset

Ohne Titel (Toblerones)

Schulhaus Leutschenbach
Saatlenfussweg 3
8050 Zürich
Wer mit offenen Augen durch die Schweizer Landschaft gewandert ist, sie mit dem Zug oder Auto durchquert hat, kennt die markanten Betonstrukturen: Panzersperren, die von den 1940ern bis in die 1990er-Jahre in Gruppen, oft in Vielzahl im Gelände platziert wurden, um den Feind abzuwehren. Im … Mehr

Matt Mullican

4 Benches

Neuenbrunnenstrasse 50
8050 Zürich
Matt Mullican (*1951, USA) ist ein Künstler, der bereits in den 1980er-Jahren ein persönliches Zeichen- und Deutungssystem entwickelt hat. In seinen Werken finden sich Symbole, die für das Denken, das Sein, die Materie, die Kunst usw. stehen. In Zürich sind vier Bänke zu sehen, in deren Gitter … Mehr

Yves Netzhammer

Der gefangene Floh

EWZ-Unterwerk Zürich-Oerlikon
 Eduard-Imhof-Strasse 3-5
8050 Zürich
Yves Netzhammer (*1970, CH) hat im Unterwerk des Elektrizitätswerks der Stadt Zürich (ewz) im Industriequartier von Oerlikon ein riesiges Wahrnehmungslabyrinth angelegt. Seine Installation aus Spiegeln, Zeichnungen, Licht und Sprache erweitert die Architektur und verwandelt die unterirdische … Mehr

Empire Peles

FOSSILE FEELINGS

Ecke Kur-Früh-Weg / Riedgrabenweg
8050 ZÜRICH
Das Künstlerduo Peles Empire wurde 2005 in Frankfurt gegründet. Der Name ist dem rumänischen Königsschloss Peleş in den Karpaten entlehnt, dessen eklektizistische Innenausstattung diverse architektonische Epochen in einem verworrenen Gefüge vereint. Von der Gotik übers Rokoko bis hin zum Art … Mehr

Annaïk Lou Pitteloud

NEO-LOGOS

Schaufenster Credit Suisse
Ohmstrasse 2/4
8050 Zürich
Annaïk Lou Pitteloud (*1980, CH) verwendet in ihrem Schaffen unterschiedlichste Medien, um die Aufmerksamkeit des Betrachters auf die unsichtbaren Komponenten der Bildkonstruktion zu lenken. ELITOPIA, GLAMOGLOBALITY, NARCYNICISM und INTROSPECULATION: Jedes Neon-Wort ist ein Neologismus, eine … Mehr

Frank & Patrik Riklin (Atelier für Sonderaufgaben)

TRINKBRUNNEN

Baugenossenschaft mehr als wohnen
Hagenholzstrasse 104
8050 Zürich
Die aus St. Gallen stammenden Zwillingsbrüder Frank und Patrik Riklin (*1973, CH) firmieren seit 1999 als «Atelier für Sonderaufgaben» und sorgen mit ungewöhnlichen Aktionen an der Grenze von Kunst, Gesellschaft und Ökonomie für Furore. Mit dem Trinkbrunnen in Zürich-Leutschenbach in der … Mehr

Alex Sadkowsky

EISLÄUFERPAAR

KUNSTEISBAHN OERLIKON
SIEWERDTSTRASSE 80
8050 zürich
Wenn sie gerade nicht von Fans umjubelt im Hallenstadion ein Heimspiel gewinnen, gleiten die ZSC Lions für ihr Training über das Eisfeld der Kunsteisbahn Oerlikon. In unmittelbarer Nähe zur Offenen Rennbahn, zum Hallenstadion und Hallenbad wird die Anlage seit 1984 von diversen Eissport-Clubs … Mehr

LIN MAY SAEED

ANKUNFT DER TIERE, DEDICATED TO ELIAS CANETTI

Dübendorfstrasse 113
8051 Zürich
Für eine Bauwand entlang der Dübendorfstrasse in Schwamendingen, wo momentan eine grosse Wohnsiedlung entsteht, hat die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin Lin May Saeed (*1973, DE / IQ) ein Bild entwickelt, das sich auf einen Text von Elias Canetti bezieht. Der Text wurde um 1919 in Zürich … Mehr

Veronika Spierenburg

Der Loop

Wiese gegenüber Herzogenmühlestrasse 20
8051 Zürich
Musikpavillons und Konzertmuscheln waren im späten 19. Jahrhundert beliebte Treffpunkte eines bürgerlichen Publikums. Zugleich verbanden sich diese Bauten mit einem utopisch-egalitären Anliegen: Musik sollte im öffentlichen Raum für alle Menschen zugänglich und erfahrbar sein. Dieser Gedanke … Mehr

Bernhard Vogelsanger

Schwamendinger Oper

Galerie Tenne
Probsteistrasse 10
8051 Zürich
Bernhard Vogelsanger (1920–1995, CH) war Dekorateur, lebte in Schwamendingen und betrieb in seiner Dreizimmerwohnung, die er mit seiner Mutter teilte, die Schwamendinger Oper. Mit vermutlich 25 oder 30 Jahren begann er, aus Schuhschachteln Opernbühnen zu musikalischen Werken zu erschaffen, die … Mehr